December 10, 2023

Business Visa

The Business Visa Is Mightier Than Sword

Ireland Makes 5-Year Multi-Entry Short-Stay Visas Available to Nationals of All Visa Required Countries

The Irish authorities have decided to permit travellers from all countries under Ireland’s visa regime the possibility to apply for short-term multiple-entry visas with a validity of five years. Up until now, the majority of short-stay visa applicants could only apply for multiple entry visas with a maximum validity of three years.

The move was announced by the country’s Minister for Justice Helen McEntee on Friday, April 23, calling the move a positive measure, in particular for people who visit Ireland regularly, in particular for business or family reasons.

This will make travelling to Ireland a more convenient and attractive option at a time when travel worldwide is resuming and our tourism industry, in particular, is reopening following the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic,” the Minister said.

So far, the country has issued only short-term multiple-entry visas valid for one year, two years, and three years. Since 2019, eligible to obtain multiple-entry visas valid for up to five years have been only Chinese passport holders.

With the new changes, travellers from all nationals of visa-required countries will be able to apply for a visa valid for five years. In particular, eligible to apply for such visas will be those people who often travel to Ireland for short-term stays.

However, persons who frequently travel to the United Kingdom, the Schengen Zone, the United States, Canada, Australia or New Zealand will also be able to benefit from this option, even if they have never before travelled to Ireland.

As per travellers who have no history of frequent trips neither to Ireland or the other countries mentioned above, the same will be eligible to apply for five-year valid visas if the same needs to travel regularly to Ireland on short visits for business meetings, as well as those who need to frequently transit Ireland en route to their destination.

The standard single entry visa option also remains available,” the Ministry notes.

The fee for a single entry visa is €60, whereas the fee for a multiple-entry visa is €100.

Currently exempt from the visa requirement to enter Ireland are the following countries: Andorra, Honduras, Samoa, Antigua & Barbuda, Hong Kong (Special Admin. Region), San Marino, Argentina, Israel, Seychelles, Australia, Japan, Singapore, Bahamas, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Barbados, Lesotho, South Africa, Belize, Macau (Special Admin. Region), South Korea, Botswana, Malaysia, Swaziland (Eswatini), Bolivia, Maldives, Switzerland, Brazil, Mexico, Taiwan, Brunei, Monaco, Tonga, Canada, Nauru, Trinidad & Tobago, Chile, New Zealand, Tuvalu, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Ukraine, Dominica, Panama, United Arab Emirates, El Salvador, Paraguay, United Kingdom, Fiji, Saint Kitts & Nevis, the US, Saint Lucia, Uruguay, Guatemala, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Vanuatu, Guyana, and the Vatican City.

Eligible to enter the country visa-free are also passport holders and residence permit holders of the EU countries, Iceland, Norway and Lichtenstein.

>> Ireland Lifts Visa Requirements for Ukrainian Citizens